Today I Blog

          I will procrastinate no more.  I am putting it in words for all of the world, (maybe not everyone), to read.  I want to be a writer.  To be clear, I want to be paid to write.  I want to earn my living by playing with words.  My challenge:  I am standing in my own way. Great writers practice their craft every day.  Paid writers share their words with an audience.  I do neither yet continue to tell friends, family and whomever else asks that I want to be a writer when I grow up.  Did I mention I’m in my forties?

 

I have never heard a specific career calling my name.  I tried factory work but developed an allergy to physical labour.  The brain numbing desk jobs I had did nothing but give me headaches and secretary’s spread.  After those life-altering experiences, I made the choice to apply to university rather than run away with the carnival, again.  Five years later, with a B.Comm (Honours) in hand, I accepted my first job with “manager” in the title and had my own business card.  Nope, that wasn’t it.

 

I have worked in the auto sector and at financial institutions; held jobs in the fields of tourism and property management; I even held ISO Auditor status for sometime. The same problem plagued me at every job.  I was smarter than the boss. I started my own small company and I plugged along until the divorce.  Banks are not the biggest fans of the small business operating less than three years with no collateral.  I needed work.  Found a job, left a job, over and over again.  I want to break the cycle.

 

No matter the job, communication has always been a responsibility I happily carried on my shoulders.  Contracts, manuals, reports, speeches and newsletters, I have written them all.  I loved every minute of the process and believe I’ve always done it well.  Unfortunately, it has always been a small part of my overall position.  Now is the time for change.

 

Proclaiming myself a writer does not make it fact.  When my words are paying my bills, I can call myself a writer.  My challenge:  I don’t know what to write.  I need to explore my creative side and see if the Great Canadian novel lies within.  Perhaps I have the gift of brevity and short stories are my thing.  I love preaching from my soapbox, which might lead to the greatest collection of Letters to the Editor ever.  No matter the path, writing every single day can only make me better.

 

Putting the words together is only part of the challenge.  Once I have carefully prepared a ramble or rant or short story, I’ve got to learn to share it with the world.  I have written for specific audiences only.  I have always known exactly who is going to read what I write, or I have convinced myself this is the case.  I’m not sure that I’ve been able to fully wrap my warped mind around the fact that with a few keystrokes, people around the world can read my work.

 

Whether or not I am ready, today I become a blogger.  Sweet’s Ideas has been birthed into the blogosphere.  For better or worse, once it is on the internet, it cannot be taken back.  If this isn’t sharing, I don’t know what is.          

One response to this post.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

